Focused on Home

Joining with Five Minute Friday and Thought-Provoking Thursdays

happy-group-of-children-playing-race-725x486

Hide and Seek.

We played it for a lifetime.

 

Scattered

into the long summer nights

we raced

spurred on to the Perfect Spot

against miscounted seconds

and out-of-step frenzy

and Hope counting down to Time’s hurried shout,

“Ready or not!”

Stopped frozen, we waited.

I don’t remember all the ins and outs

of places I hid,

or times I froze,

or how I held my breath so tight.

 

But oh

I remember those nights flying like the wind

when no one but Ollie and his oxen and me

stampeded free…

~ A true Winner’s Parade ~

and a heart focused only on home.

happy-child-finds-joy-725x544

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. LaughingLady says:

    Beautiful poetry. You captured the childhood emotions of those moments so well!!

  2. geniecan says:

    wrote you a comment and it wouldn’t post for some reason.. love your piece Jane… You have ” a way with words” gifted, I’d say. “Spurred on to the perfect spot” such fun to remember those times… Reminds me of times ( before you were born!) when I could add noise to finding that perfect spot because my girlfriend was deaf (-; Keep up the writing Jane.. you inspire me! Hugs, Jeane

  3. This is great, Jane! I love the imagery you use. Big thumbs up.

    Lynette
    ~visiting from FMF (I’m perched at #8)

    1. Thanks, Lynette! (I had JUST visited YOU! … 🙂 … heading back there now.

Leave a Reply

